The Handmaid’s Tale

I read this book while I was in San Diego, The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood. I enjoyed it. These quotes are not at all representative of the book. I don’t feel much like summarizing it, so head over to goodreads.com if you’re interested. One warning: this book is not conservative. It’s not a happy, feel good book. However, the message it conveys about women I think is important.

My next book is more of a reading experience. I’m rereading The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but not all at once. Perks is written as a compilation of letters from Charlie. Each of these letters has a date at the top, and I am going to read his letters as if I was really receiving them one by one. His first letter was written August 25, 1991, and his last letter was August 23, 1992 with 52 letters in total. I’ve never taken a year to read a book before; here’s hoping I don’t grow impatient with the gaps between letters.

“I keep on going with this sad and hungry and sordid, this limping and mutilated story, because after all I want you to hear it, as I will hear yours too if I ever get the chance…. By telling you anything at all I’m at least believing in you, I believe you’re there, I believe you into being. Because I’m telling you this story I will your existence. I tell, therefore you are.”

“God is love, they once said, but we reversed that, and love, like heaven, was always just around the corner. The more difficult it was to love the particular man beside us, the more we believed in Love, abstract and total. We were waiting, always, for the incarnation. That word, made flesh.”

Leave a Reply

